Lengadary Sprinter Usain Bolt won the Laureus World Sportsman of the year award for a record-equaling fourth time today, after cementing his status as the greatest Olympic sprinter in history with three gold medals at Rio 2016.

The 30-year-old Jamaican was victorious in the 100 meters, 200m and 4x100m relay in the Rio Olympics last year Brazil – achieving that treble for the third Olympics in succession, although he has since been forced to hand back his relay gold from Beijing due to team-mate Nesta Carter being retrospectively punished for doping.

Bolt received his latest honour at a glamorous ceremony in Monaco on today, having beaten off competition from fellow nominees Stephen curry, Mo Farah, LeBron James, Andy Murray and Cristiano Ronaldo.

Bolt who won the award in 2009, 2010 and 2013, joins tennis star roger Federer in winning the award on four occasions.

Earlier, Simone Biles had been confirmed as the winner of the world sportswoman of the year award.

The American, who claimed four gold medals and a bronze in Rio, is the first gymnast to be honored by Laureus in the men’s or women’s category.